The ‘Buck Moon’ lunar eclipse this Fourth of July will be hard to see

0 14

“Skywatchers in most of the United States have the chance to see a Fourth of July lunar eclipse tonight. But the minor Independence Day eclipse will be difficult to spot and observers shouldn’t expect mind-blowing views of the moon in Earth’s shadow”.
“The July full moon will pass into the lightest part of the shadow of the Earth, which is called the penumbra. The penumbral lunar eclipse will thus see the moon’s surface darken very slightly. But even if you can’t see the eclipse that well, the moon is always a fun observing target. The eclipse will start on tonight at 11:08 p.m. EDT (0308 GMT Sunday, July 5) and end on Sunday at 1:53 a.m. EDT (0553 GMT) at most, depending on your location, 35 percent of the visible moon will pass into the light shadow of the Earth”, Space reports.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More